Oldies but Goodies

Music is an universal language.  It not only bring forth different types of entertainment but combine different cultures together. People are allow to not only show their talents but show how people from different parts of the world have common interests. The one type of music that I enjoy to hear are collaborations. Collaborations allow people from different genres of music to hare the same interest. By showing people that two worlds can come together to unite as one sound not only bring togetherness but allow people to open up to variety.

P. Diddy  is know for sampling classic songs and giving them a modern twist. One of his most famous he help produced was “Juicy” by The Notorious B.I.G. This song sample the song “Juicy Fruit” by MTume.

In the song “Juicy”, B.I.G. explains how he has amount to something great from nothing. He tells of the things he have faced in his past that he don’t have to deal with. He tells of how all the things he have faced help him accomplish himself. Other that the sampling the beat of MTume,  it also reuse and rewrite the chorus.

Mtume Chorus:

you know very well what you are
your my sugar thang my chocolate star
I’ve had a few but not that many
but you’re the only one that gives me good and plenty

B.I.G. chorus:

You know very well who you are
Don’t let em hold you down, reach for the stars
You had a goal, but not that many
’cause you’re the only one I’ll give you good and plenty

 

Though each song is different genres of music, rap and R&b, they both are love songs. Mtume was a love song for the woman and Notorious B.I.G was for the love of the life he have lived.

Other sampling that I find very interesting are ones with two totally different cultures.  In 1998 an artist named Panjabi MC release a song named “Mundian To Bach Ke”. This type of music is called bhangra music. In 2002, this song was re-release with Jay-Z called “Beware of the Boys”.

These combinations help generations to understand each other better from any part of the world.

Leave a comment