Now, if I give you me, this is how it’s got to be

Growing up in a Latinx household, I was exposed to a lot of Latin influenced-music and artists that were not only successful in the U.S., but throughout the world with similar levels of accessibility. However, it was a mix of R&B, Pop and Dance music that became the foundation of my early music tastes. One of my earliest memories that involved music was when I was a toddler in the early 2000s where I stumbled upon compilation DVD of J-Lo’s “On the 6” album which featured behind-the-scenes footage of her music videos for the debut album.

71qS56T+y-L._SL1259_

The album spawned multiple top 10 hits including her debut single “If You Had My Love” which peaked at #1 on the US Billboard Hot 100 for 5 weeks in the summer of 1999 (Iconic). However, my first of many encounters with the album and the single in particular did not take place until I was about 4-5 years old (2003-4). Although my sense of consciousness had not yet developed during the initial release of the album, it still holds a very special place in my childhood.

One memory in particular was when my parents were both working similar schedules which left my aunt to watch over me while they were at work. Whenever I would start to get grumpy or just bored with my Buzzlight Year toy, my aunt would play the DVD/album on the T.V. which would have my eyes glued to it for hours. I remember watching the video for “If You Had My Love” and being in awe of J-Lo’s pop-star presence. The video had a cyberspace concept that played with the ideas of modern technology and early internet influences. Even though it was released in 1999, it was sooo 2000’s.

@ 1:48 – me in my living room.

The track consisted of mid-tempo R&B with pop/Latin influences. It’s catchy as fuck. I remember watching the video on loop for the whole day as I would try to consume as much of the cinematography as possible for a 4 year-old. It was one of the first songs I ever truly fell in love with and to this day still slaps. The dance breakdown in the middle of the video was and still is it. The white on white aesthetic of her outfits helped elevate the millennium theme of the video. It’s as if J-Lo is in her own world as people watch over her though the eyes on the wall. She KNOWS she’s that girl. Another iconic video that was born from the same debut album was “Waiting for Tonight”, which peaked at #8 on the Hot 100. I just remember having dreams of green light beams in the jungle.

The album in general strengthen the bond between me and my late aunt through or similar tastes in music at the time. Whenever I listen to it, the singles I’ve mentioned in particular, it takes me back to simpler times when I was just a young kid living in Queens with my aunt, re-watching clips of Latinx artists like J-Lo and finding inspiration in their success.

 

Leave a comment