The Execution of Jenny Lewis

Jenny Lewis has a voice that is distinct in its range and tone. She is an American musician and actress. Born in Las Vegas she was meant to be a star! Ha. No but for real she is one of my favorite artists. Lewis started out young staring in commercials for Jell-O and having small roles on TV shows like the Growing Pains and Rosanne to name a few. She acted in films till 1998 with rolls in teen themed films. Most notably for me was Pleasantville, even though it wasn’t a large role. Musically she has participated in bands, collaborated with numerous artists, and has a thriving solo career.

Her music is where I discovered her and fell in love. In 1998 she formed the band Rilo Kiley with Pierre De Reeder, Jason Boesel (who replaced Dave Rock), and Blake Sennett. Rilo Kiley had four studio albums released, and a few EP’s in between. Their first full-length studio released album Take-offs and Landings is what really got me hooked. The album from start to finish tells a story for me. This is the only album I can actually listen to and still be productive. I can do anything and everything from schoolwork to sleeping. This says a lot only because I get distracted very easily. I usually have to give things my undivided attention to really absorb the content, but with this album it’s just different. There are three songs that really stand out for me, “Go Ahead”, Science vs. Romance”, and “Pictures of Success”. My favorite part of “Go Ahead” is:

“If you want to have your cake and eat it to

And if you want to have other people watch you while you eat it
Go ahead
Go ahead
Go ahead
Be my guest
Go ahead “

There’s nothing ground breaking going on, but to me its like ‘yeah I am going to have my cake, and you ARE going to watch me eat that shit.’ Musically the song is simple containing mostly of a strumming guitar.

Jenny Lewis as a collaborator is probably my favorite. Her work Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins and Jenny and Johnny are my favorites.  The Album with the Watson Twins titled Rabbit Fur Coat, has blue grass style soulful singing with a blast of gospel. The song “You are what you love” is my favorite song by Ms. Lewis hands down. Not so much for the lyrics but for the musical tone of the song. I love the fast pace and how there really is no intro or real ending. I like the energy that the song creates by beginning and ending abruptly.

Jenny and Johnny is a collaboration with her boyfriend Jonathon Rice. He is a Scottish singer songwriter. Their debut album together I’m Having Fun Now for me is a great rainy day just hanging around the house listen. The listener can tell they had fun while making it. My favorite song is “Animal”. Rice’s main vocals being complimented by Lewis is what makes the song so catchy and smooth.

Leave a comment